Questions
  • lizzzylizzzy
    Member, Moderator
    If you have a question, want to know something. Or simply just not sure about something. Shout out. There are no silly questions, if your thinking it someone else probably is too. I am not an expert, i can only share my experiences. I was Sleeved in March 2013, i never had a band.
  • Does anyone get a rash or itchy around there incisions ???
    I'm banded but get really itchy and a rash around the incision where my port was inserted! The others are ok it's only the big one..
    If you do what creams/oils do you use??
    I bought some vitamin E cream from the body shop today hoping it calms down,

Bec
  • lizzzylizzzy
    Member, Moderator
    that sometimes can be due to the bandage.... don't worry some use bio oil, i used my body shop vitamin E cream. just make sure after shower you dry it really good and then get some sunlight on it....only for a wee bit, you dont want to get burned. i found sitting in the sun for about 10 mins after my shower helped me heal quicker..and made me feel just plain better. It does gets better after a few days, i promise. If your still concerned and its angry and yucky looking, go and get it check out.
    Good luck on your new journey:)

Geoff Draper: May I just add a comment here. Avoid adding oils etc to very new wounds . After 6 weeks or so you can use oils and creams if you like, and I agree bio oil is a good choice and very popular. Avoid sun exposure for the first 12 months after surgery to maximise the scar maturing to the colour of the rest of your skin. The itching early after the surgery is related to healing and the irritation from the chemicals etc in the dressings. After that the wounds can be oversensitive. Harsh scratching, ointments, sweating, certain fabrics etc can all prolong and increase the itch. Best to resist the urge to scratch, avoid and lotions and wait it out. There are medications that might help such as those used for hayfever (antihistamines)